Ultra Conservative, Ultra Type “A”, Ultra Runner!!!

That’s me in a nutshell. . . conservative, type A, Ultra Runner! I just celebrated my 42nd birthday in December, and I wanted to reflect on the year 2013 and what I did in racing, what I learned about myself, what I learned about my running and where I want to go in 2014.

In 2013, I raced more than I have raced before. Here is what that looked like for me.

March 16th, 2013-Savage Gulf (Trail) Marathon DNF at mile 17.5. I made the cutoff time. I sprained my ankle pretty bad at mile 3, ran to mile 17.5.

April 6th, 2013 Oak Barrel 1/2 Marathon 2:02 finish, 14th in my age group. I was really hoping to break 2 hours in this race, but stomach trouble kept me to a little over 2 hours. I think my favorite part of this race was that each woman in my running group finished under 2:02 and one of our runners placed first in her age group. That makes me happy.

May 11, 2013 Dances with Dirt GNAW BONE 7:36 finish, 16th/48 women, 3rd in my age group. This was a crazy, unexpected race. Some fun experiences, during the second half of this race included a wall of mud to climb up, a large stair case around mile 19 or 21 and a river to traverse at mile 30.5, treading water up to my thighs.

June 2, 2013 Rock N Roll San Diego Marathon 4:41 finish, 3570th/6542 people. Probably one of the best times I have had running a marathon. I walked through every aid station. I did not wear a watch or a fuel belt. I signed up the day before.

October 12, 2013 Ruffner Mountain High Crusher Ridge 63K 7:33 finish in the marathon. I did not complete the 63K, really tough race. I finished after 26.2. I placed second in the ladies. I was very happy to place second after a tear filled struggle to finish the first 13 miles!! Best part of this race? Scaling down a mountain, next to a mine shaft at about mile 10.5 and mile 21.

October 25, 2013 Ragnar Relay!  Such a fun time. I was runner 7 for the third time. I finally conquered Mont Eagle Mountain!! I’m passing the torch on. Best feeling in the world to run 4 miles uphill without having to stop!

Looking ahead to 2014. . . Click on the links and check these out. I have not had a chance to look at either course, either elevation chart, or either aid station mileage. Just signed up. I will study soon. 🙂

Black Warrior 50K trail race February 15, 2014 (Happy Valentine’s Day to me. 🙂 )

Lake Martin 50 mile trail race March 29, 2014

I learned, confirmed a few things about myself as a runner, as I reflect on 2013. I am the type of runner who is most comfortable with a ‘negative split’. A negative split is when you run the second half of your race faster than the first half, even if it is only by 30 seconds. I have learned that on the road, I reach a comfortable place at about mile 3 or 4. On the trail, I reach a comfortable place at about mile 7 or 10. I have learned that in a 50K race, the “race” does not begin until about mile 19. So, get to mile 19, with a happy face, happy pace and happy stomach. I have learned that I really LOVE running on the trail. I have learned that I really LOVE ultra running.

Leave a Reply

