Where’s My Burning Bush?

If you recall, It was God who spoke to Moses through the burning bush. Moses was in the desert, taking care of his father-in-law’s sheep, when he noticed a bush on fire. The bush was burning  but not being consumed by the fire. He chose to investigate, and he met with God. God gave him an important ‘direction’, ‘oversight’, ‘charge’. He was going to send Moses to Pharaoh to free the Israelites. Moses grumbled and challenged God. God sent him with a helper, Aaron. God sent him with miraculous signs. God foretold of certain deliverance and riches in the form of silver and gold that the Israelites would receive. (Exodus 3:1-4:16)

Did I mention that God spoke to Moses through a burning bush? Wouldn’t it be nice if we all received a clear charge/direction sent in the mail ? Displayed in the sky via fireworks?  “Follow this course of action. . . ” “Do these three things for the next four months. . . ” “Run/walk this amount during your race and . . ..” AND, sometimes, it’s something deeper like the following.  “What is my purpose?” “When will this change?” or “Why?” It seems to me that CLEARLY a burning bush would get my attention. It seems to me, like, CLEARLY if God spoke to me through a burning bush I would believe him. Moses was not only arguing with a burning bush. He was arguing with God. I read this story and think, “come on Moses!! God is talking to you so that you can audibly hear Him. Why are you arguing? He’s telling you what to do and where to go!”

God does give us guidance and direction today. He could speak to us in a burning bush tomorrow, but most likely He won’t. Instead, He may send a friend to help you process where you are or where you are going or where you should go. He will use His word to give you the global picture of who He says you are and what He says he made you for. He will use a book or a song.  It is the day-to-day decisions that get me. I still want to know or even be told how it is going to look next week, next month, next year. I still want to make the BEST decision.

The truth is that we are equipped to make the best decision. It is the “heartbreaks and hiccups” of life that have brought us to where we are today. It is okay to glory in these,  and by that I mean thank God that he brought us down the path He chose to. I believe that with God, there is no plan B. According to Him, I am living plan A. He will redeem even my worst decisions, big or small.

God knew that Moses needed the burning bush. I think Moses needed the fire. I think Moses needed to know, “I AM”.

One thought on “Where’s My Burning Bush?

Leave a Reply

