Strong.Beautiful.Deserving.In.

 

An effective mantra should focus on what you want to feel, not on what you’re trying to overcome…

It should also be short, positive, instructive, and full of action words.

-Ashley Jones, “The Power of a Great Running Mantra”

I just finished my last long run before my race. It is time to taper. It is time to work on visualization. It is time to practice mantras. It is time to be grateful for how many miles I have ran, and to look ahead with joy and anticipation for the miles yet to come!

You can search the Internet for running mantas. There are many. I was running last week and thinking ahead to my race. I was thinking back to the process of my training. You can choose a mantra from the list of those you read. But. . . sometimes. . . your mantra finds you.

I am strong

I am beautiful

I am deserving

I am in (the finisher’s shoot)

I shortened it to, Strong. Beautiful. Deserving. In. Here is why each word is significant to me.

Strong. Muscles, endurance. sweat. focus. consistent. Hard work. Athletic. Competitive. Tenacious. Capable.

Beautiful. To me there is something beautiful about a woman giving all she has. . . her heart, being vulnerable to the outcome, not being afraid to believe it’s possible. Sweat. tears. hard work. no guarantees. Athlete.

Deserving. Worthy. valuable. allow yourself to reach for it. Letting go of what you think you need. No fear of being happy, really happy. Letting go. Pressing in.

In. Done. finished. it’s over. It will stop. Letting go. Accomplishment. Completion.

In all these things, I am the daughter of the king. That is enough. 

I am a daughter of a King

who is not moved by the world.

For my God is with me

And goes before me.

I do not fear because I am his.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Strong.Beautiful.Deserving.In.

Leave a Reply

