P2P training: My 102 Mile Week

“Many people stop short of their destiny. They settle for someone else’s story. . they never sing the song God wrote for their voices. They never cross the finish line with heavenward-stretched arms and declare, ‘I was made to do this!’ ”

-Max Lucado, “Glory Days”

Focus on today. God meets daily needs daily. Not weekly or annually. He will give you what you need when it is needed.

-Max Lucado, Fearless

My husband started a new job and had to leave at 7:15 every morning. My kids were not in school yet and I will not leave them alone, while I run on the trail.  I had 74 miles on my schedule. I was overwhelmed. 

I called Teresa on Sunday night. . . 

“How am I going to get my miles in this week? I am overwhelmed.”

. . . she showed me how it could be done. It helps to talk to someone when moments of your training seem impossible. To talk to someone when your training is at “critical mass”. 🙂 She showed me 10, 5, 6, 4, 25 & 25. After we talked, I decided to go a bit farther. My schedule had  me 10, 5, 6, 4, & 50, in miles.  I did not have the time to run a 50.  So I’d run 2, 25’s, instead. 

I decided this would be a GREAT race simulation week. I would run 2x a day if I needed to in order to get in my miles. I would run before Byron left for work and after. I would wake up extra early to start. I would be tired. I would come home and eat. I would go out again after I ate. Here is how my week turned out!!

  • Monday: 12.2 miles. 3.6 miles.
  • Tuesday: Hiked 2 miles on the treadmill at 18%. Ran 6 miles. Hiked 2.25 miles on the treadmill at 15%. Ran 4 miles.
  • Wednesday: Ran 10.2 miles. Ran 12 miles.
  • Thursday: Hiked 3 miles on the treadmill at 18%. Ran 5.5 miles. Ran 12.75 miles.
  • Friday: Ran 7.3 miles. Ran 3.75 miles
  • Saturday: Ran 12.68 miles. Ran 4.75 miles

102 miles

Takeaways:

  1. It’s a lot of running
  2. Eat enough to fuel this endeavor and be diligent about recovery!
  3. The body is able. The mind needs to know it’s able.
  4. Focus on the day, hour, moment you’re in.
  5. It CAN be done, in the midst of what life looks like as a mom of 3.
  6. Two-a-days
  7. Nutrition and rest the week after is just as important if not MORE important than the 100-mile week itself. Just because volume is down the week after, DO NOT cut back calories. It takes a lot to rebuild and restore.

 

Leave a Reply

