Pine to Palm Training (July)

Ascend it. Stare long and longingly at the Bonfire, The Holy One, the Highest One, the Only One. As you do, all your fears, save the fear of Christ himself, will melt like ice cubes on a summer sidewalk. You will agree with David: “The LORD is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear?”

When Christ is great our fears are not. A package-able, portable Jesus might fit well in a purse or on a shelf, but he does nothing to our fears.

-Max Lucado, Fearless

When I look back at my training plan and the notes that I have kept to date, it never seems like too much or too hard or not enough or too easy. Looking forward always seems hard in the moment. It is the unknown. Sure, I have it planned. What am I afraid of?

July: 315 miles. 60,971′ of climbing and downhill.

  • week 1: 31 miles. 5575′
  • week 2: 66.2 miles. 11,709′
  • week 3: 71.4 miles. 15,795′
  • week 4: 82 miles. 16, 937′
  • week 5: 65 miles. 10,955′

5/6 days on the trail this month. In addition, I spent 2-3 days after my run on the treadmill at 18% for about 2 miles at a time.

New this month: Back with my trainer, after a month of working on core, outside of the gym. I love the stuff he is giving me to do. The best part, to me, is that I do not have to keep track. I do not know the weights that he is putting on the bar. I do not know what I did last week compared to next, etc. It makes it easy to get in there and just work hard, without having to keep up with all those details. I go twice a week,  and it is keeping me fit to run hard. Sure, there are tears, but that’s okay.

fav exercises: renegade rows, squats

least fav: anything with those TRX bands

Looking ahead: Oh August. You seem so busy already. I want to solidify this place I’m at in my training, but I do not see enough time in my week (s). I think this month will fly by. I need this for August. . .

Focus on today. God meets daily needs daily. Not weekly or annually. He will give you what you need when it is needed.

-Max Lucado, Fearless

Loving now: 

Square Bar in chocolate coated almond spice and in cocoa cherry. They have the consistency of a peppermint patty. The are GF, Dairy Free, Soy Free, Organic and Vegan. About 210 calories a square. Check them out.

GU (new formula) Chocolate smoothie recovery drink mix. 180 calories. 20% protein. It has a great flavor, and it is not gritty. Chocolate milk is def easy to find and cheaper than this. My go to for my runners is def chocolate milk. It is interesting to look at a side by side comparison of low fat chocolate milk and GU Choc smoothie recovery. Both are almost identical in calories, sodium, carbs, sugars, whey, leucine. Milk has 30% calcium. GU Choc smoothie has 6% calcium. The GU is convenient because you mix it with water and shake in a water bottle. Choc milk is convenient because it is everywhere. I can make a case for both.

Luna Peanut Butter Dark Chocolate Chunk bars. They are GF. They have 180 calories, 5 grams of sugar, and 8 grams of protein. They are easy chew and eat. They have the consistency of a soft rice crispy bar. They are not too sweet. I can eat more than one on a training run and not grow tired of the taste.

Compression shorts in this hot, humid weather. Def does not feel as gross. They do not drip.

Changing clothes after mile 20 of a L O N G training run. It helps me to hit restart and finish the miles I have may have left.

Imagine that day, where you can finally say, “I did it!” When you can say, “I never gave up, I never quit!” Imagine that day when you win that gold medal, or cross the finish line. Where these moments of pain turn into memories for that goal you wanted to obtain. It might take long to reach that moment, but as soon as you get there you’ll thank yourself for the rest of your life.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

