Up to Date: P2P training (May)

It’s going to take grit and grind, and desire. It’s a heart game. You can bring all the talent and say you’re going to depend on that, but that only gets you so far. Every piston has to be hitting in the engine to win. You have to execute.

-Bryan Larrison

 

May: 205 miles. 29,563 feet of elevation gain.

  • week 1: 35 miles. 4558′
  • week 2: 59 miles. 9769′
  • week 3: 50 miles. 7700′
  • week 4: 61 miles. 7536′

I spend almost all of my miles on the trail, with the acceptation of Tuesday. On Tuesdays, I run track and power hike on the treadmill.

I spent two days a week with a trainer in the gym, TRX, balance work, deadlifts, kettle bell. Probably some of the hardest work I have done in a gym, in a long time. I chose to meet my trainer after my run on Mondays and Thursdays. Tough work. Grit. Resilience.

Working on:

  • running in the heat. Choosing warm times of the day. Not rushing to get it done before it gets hot. Knowing it will get hot and I need to adapt.
  • hill repeating, not always fast, not always running, just repeating as a normal part of each run. Making it a habit. Habits are hard to break.
  • getting MORE comfortable in the uncomfortable.
  • eating well. Finding what works. Drinking PLENTY of water, not TOO much water. There is a difference.

What I am loving now:

Shorts: LADIES,  I have done the research and found some airy, comfortable, flattering shorts. Check out these “Hotty Hot Shorts” in LONG from Lululemon. In the running (HA) for me? Lululemon’s traditional Hotty Hot Shorts, inseam 2 1/2″. Oiselle distance shorts, inseam 3 1/4″. The “Hotty Hot Shorts” in LONG are a 4″ inseam. Perfect for my 5′ 10″, 150 pound body. They are very airy. I wear these a lot lately.

Shoes: I am still wearing my Hoka Challenger ATRs.

Pack: I am still wearing my Ultimate Direction, AK vest. I have had it for at least 3 years. I should prob look into an update, but it works and I like it.

Watch: Suunto Ambit 2. Still going strong. I did recently have to buy a new charger.

 

Leave a Reply

