#ultralife

2 girls, 1 boy, 3 schools, carpool, hard working husband, who is also a runner, laundry, dinner, lunch, breakfast, doctor’s, dentist’s, Saturday morning Ninja class, broken hearts, mean friends, sleepovers, the mall. . . (deep breath) the piano, the violin, the flute, pony tails, french braids, flat irons, hugs, kisses. . . (inhale/exhale) homework, Wednesday night, best friends, un-friends, ‘tweens, teens, screens, slammed doors, mean girls, “unfair”, iPhones, iPads, texts, social media. . . (sigh) ‘worst’ mom, ‘best’ mom, room mom,  (seriously) imperfect mom, PTO, Sunday school teacher. . .

Thank God for, good books, good friends, gelato, coffee, breakfast, vacuum cleaners, dishwashers, washing machines, pedicures, flowers, music, chocolate. 

Doing what I love everyday, it is a balance. That balance is constantly in check with my life above. It looks different everyday. It looks different every week. I absolutely love my family and I unquestionably love running, ultra running on the trail.

On average:

6:00 am -8:00 am

Wake-up (on Tuesdays, I am up at 4:30 am-I coach track). I’m up with the girls getting them ready for school. They leave at 7:00 am and I finish getting my son up and ready. He is out the door at 7:30 am.

8:00 am-12:30 pm or 1:00 pm

Mondays-meet a friend to run, between 5-14 miles, depending on my training schedule. After my run, I spend 45 minutes on my core at the gym, after hiking of the treadmill or riding the bike.  Then done working out for the day.

Tuesdays-(2-a-day) I run track at 5:00 am, usually 4-6 miles. I head home to get the kids out the door. Ongoing commitment on Tuesdays, 9:30 am-11:00 am. My second run starts at 11:15 am. I will go for 4-6 miles, depending on my training cycle. Sometimes, I meet a friend for this and sometimes, I am on my own.

Wednesdays-easy day of running 5-10 miles, depending on my training schedule. 45 minutes of core work, after hiking on the treadmill or riding the bike.

Thursdays-easy day of running 5-10 miles, depending on training schedule, how I feel and what distance I ran on Wednesday.

Fridays-easy 5 miler or off, depending on how I feel, training schedule or how long I am going on Saturday

Saturdays-Long run. . . up to 26 miles, unless I have a race as part of my training schedule. After running long, I usually finish at the gym with at least 2 miles of hiking on the treadmill @ 15%.

Sundays-REST

12:30 pm 

errands, home, lunch, nap

2:00 pm or 3:30 pm

carpool, errands, nap

4:00 pm-8:30 pm

homework, recap of the day, make cookies, make dinner, eat, bath/shower, prep lunches for tomorrow, bed!

What happens when my training miles increase? 

When my miles increase, I am running more and have less time for errands & nap. On my peak weeks, during training, I may go from breakfast/kids to school to all day on the trail to carpool.  I try to nap or at least lay down and read every day. I think this is very important for my body. Running is a full time job for me that I balance with my sweet family and friends.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

