Longing for 2016

I have spent the majority of January thinking, anticipating, dreaming about running 100 miles in 2016. I have also spent most of January resting my body from my race in December. I’ve been running less and biking more, watch–less and watching more. I’m not lacking motivation. I’m not lacking heart. I’m finding joy in the rest and excitement as I look forward to training. I am looking forward to the journey to 100 miles.

To tell you the truth I’m longing. . .

longing for the darkness

longing for the elevation

longing for the wilderness

longing for the cold

longing for the heat

longing for the sunset

longing for the sunrise

longing for the feeling of exhaustion

longing for the feeling of elation

. . . for my heart to beat because of fear, for my heart to beat because I’m utterly tired, for my heart to beat because I AM A L I V E! I’m anticipating that running 100 miles will bring all these longings and more. It will not be easy. I may want to quit. BUT ‘easy’ and ‘quitting’ do not change the longing.

It was when I was happiest that I longed most. . . The sweetest think in all my life has been the longing. . . to find the place where all the beauty came from.

C. S. Lewis

 

Leave a Reply

