Race Recap: Lookout 50

Competition drives you; it is an opportunity to shine, to show the fruits of your labor, to thrive.  -Vern Gambetta

Hard to know where to start! I will break this down like I ran it.

The start: There were 250 runners in this race (171 finishers). We started out running across the road and through the campus at Covenant College in Georgia. Wide open running on sidewalks until you get to the trail head. Sometimes in races that start on the road and feed to the trail, you will experience a “log jam” of people once you hit single track trail. There was never really a jam. The pace was faster than the usual but comfortable. I did not want to spend my day looking at my pace, slowing myself down, if I was running faster than usual. I decided to take mile 0 to 22.5 by feel. I also decided to have fun and smile as much as possible. I started out running with Steve and Rick.

Miles 0-8 ran by feel. This was a great, runnable section with amazing views of Chattanooga. We ran down from the bluff trail to Craven’s House where the first aid station was. I decided the week before that I would not stop at any aid station. The consistent word from a couple friend’s who’ve raced Lookout 50 was to keep moving. It was great to hit mile 8. Felt great, eating well.

Miles 8-15 another very quick, runnable section. I ran by feel and did not pay attention to my watch. I picked up HEED at the aid station and kept moving. This is where I separated from Steve and Rick. I was not trying to stay ahead. I just felt great, it was race day.  I had a long climb ahead and I was ready to do some power hiking. LOVE to hike. I have always been a fast hiker. I took my hiking to a new level this training cycle with a word from Teresa about hiking on the treadmill at 15% incline for 30 minutes. If this is not part of your training and you want an easy way to improve your time. This workout is key.

Miles 15-22.5 This was the section with the climb up to Covenant, where we started. This was the first time that I would see my crew (Byron and Emma). I was looking forward to seeing them, getting two quick hugs and a kiss from Byron. Well, during my hike up to Covenant, I looked at my watch and realized that I was an hour ahead of my projected schedule. When I got to Covenant, Emma and Byron were not there. I did see Teresa, Kevin, Sherrie and Yong. I got hugs from Teresa and Sherrie and Yong filled my water bottles. This gave Kevin and Teresa a better idea of when they might see me at mile 34. Sad I missed my crew. I pressed on with a smile, knowing that I would see them again at mile 34!

Miles 22.5-29 I ran this section in training about 3 weeks ago. When I ran it, the leaves were ankle deep and we got a bit lost. Race day was great! The leaves were barely shoe deep and the trail was marked well. I will revisit this section at the end of the race. I was kind of thinking about that, but was driven for the most part to stay ahead of schedule and get to mile 34 with a great attitude and excitement to see my people!! This section had a creek crossing. The water was about calf deep, and it felt great.

Miles 29-34 I thought this section was beautiful. The fun part of this spot was the rope that you had to use to climb up and down one section of the course. LOVED it. This climb would eventually put you up on the bluff and provide some easy running up top. It probably would have seemed easier, if my legs did not have 30 miles on them. I did a lot of power hiking on this section, but I kept an eye on my watch to try and keep up a good pace.

Not so much going by feel at this point because it was getting harder. I felt like I was going more by watch pace. I felt more like I was racing. . . pushing through the time on my feet, pushing my mind to a champion place, knowing that I was getting closer and closer to my pacer. He could take some of the mental work off of me. I knew I could trust what Kevin told me to do, even if my body did not want to do it. I was ready to see, “how bad I wanted it.”

I also liked this section because you were able to watch the leaders running to the finish. I saw several friends running at record pace back to the finish! Awesome to give encouragement and to receive it.

Miles 34-38 Thrilled to get a pacer. 🙂 I ran into 34 and felt good. I was so excited to see Emma, Byron, Teresa and Kevin.  I decided to eat (maybe too much). In the grand scheme, a 1/2 bagel, some pretzels and a clementine can be too much, when you are at mile 34 and running record pace (for me). This is where the demise of my stomach began. . . da, da, daaa. Kevin and I were off.  This is the section that most runners of Lookout will tell you is their least favorite. I will tell you that I did not mind it. For me, it was a welcome break and hopefully time for my stomach to chill. I think faster runners do not like it because it is hard to get a rhythm. I enjoyed the go, slowdown, go, slowdown of it. I felt a bit nauseous and gassy but it was manageable. My legs felt great. I wanted some tums.

There was a creek crossing in this section; I think. I cannot remember. It was cold and felt good, but it took a while for my feet to feel warm again.

Miles 38-44 Saw my crew again at 38! Again, it was great to see them. I was desperate for tums. . . ANYTHING to help my stomach settle. I did not want any food. I did want to keep drinking water and electrolyte. I had to sip these very slowly,  as my stomach was still bothering me. Boy! It was getting hard to get my stomach off of my head. Kevin did SUCH a great job talking me through this section with anticipation for the last push!!! I know I asked his several time about our pace. I think that my lack of food was now starting to affect my mind. I could not for the life of me comprehend what he was saying. All I wanted to do was to follow his feet.

Miles 44-50 MAN!! This section was so, so tough. My stomach progressively got worse and worse. If I could have thrown up, I would have. I did burp a lot. That felt great! Again, I loved how Kevin told me about the course as we ran, “we will climb slightly here and then, we’ll have a nice downhill. . . ” Kevin has run this race and he remembered a lot of details about it. I also liked that he would say, “okay, let run nice and easy.  . . let’s get a rhythm.” I like this a lot because if I could start getting into an easy rhythm then, I could think less about my stomach, and it did make running feel easy.

There were tears in this section, at least twice. Kevin sympathized but then got me back on task. Again, I think I asked him about our pace and he told me information but I still had no idea what he said. I totally needed to just follow directions right now. I could not think clearly and my stomach was bad. We had to put our headlamps on about 3/4 mile from the finish.

This to me was the worst section, worse than 34-38!! There is a squirrelly part down by a small river with mud and roots, etc. I told Kevin that I was for sure walking. He let me walk. After that, I think he was talking me up every hill, around every corner. He was keeping watch over any headlamps that might be close. I remember telling Kevin that I did not care, if I got passed. He said, “you will tomorrow! Let’s go.”

STOMACH! STOMACH! STOMACH! It was frustrating because, I was still moving okay. I still had no clue how close we were to the finish. I kept my headlamp on Kevin’s feet. Kevin pointed up ahead to the finish and told me that I could not walk through it. I agreed 100% in my heart, but I had to convince my stomach to hold on. I asked him if he promised that that was the finish?! He said, “yes.”

The finish: Until I crossed the line and looked at the time 10:42. I had NO IDEA, when I would finish. Oh my gosh. I could not believe it!  AND, I felt horrible. I walked into the warming tent and laid down. I wanted to vomit. Instantly, I was freezing. the next 15 minutes (could have been longer. I do not know) were a blur. They sat me in a chair by the fire. I remember setting my feet on the wood, in the fire. Emma took off my wet shoes and socks.  I was so cold.

Two men and a woman carried me into the warming tent. Emma made me take all of my clothes off and put on dry clothes. I was wrapped in two wool blankets and a space blanket. My feet were up, near the fire. It was so cold. I couldn’t stop shivering. I got ginger candy and that helped my stomach a bit. I got a cup of HOT broth. That was great. Byron put my Uggs on. I was finally warming up. I ate half a burger and now felt like I was coming back to life.

Stats:
11th female out of 29.
2nd in my age group.
81st finisher out of 171 finishers (250 runners started the race).

Amazing day. Tired. Satisfied. Contented. Sore. Peaceful.

 

5 thoughts on “Race Recap: Lookout 50

  1. John Borton

    Just a correction — there were 171 *finishers* in this race. There were more than 250 runners.

    Nice write up … enjoyed it.

    Reply
    1. ooartist1234 Post author

      John-did you run the 50? How did you do? I could not find on Ultrasignup when they posted all runners. Usually, they show finishers and non-finishers. Maybe, it is there now? Thanks for your feedback. I will go in and edit. What will you run next?

      Reply
      1. John Borton

        Hi. I did run the 50. I’m in my mid 50s and it was my first. 28th overall at 9:16 so I was pretty stoked. I ran for a friend the year before as a safety runner and said to myself “I want to be in this race next year”. I had never even thought about doing a 50 before that but I focused and trained hard all year. I live very near the trails that the course is on so I was able to train locally and knew exactly what to expect. 2 weeks before the race I ran 44.5 miles of the course (all you could run that wasn’t on private property) in ~8:30 so I had my pace figured out. Overall very happy with the results.

        My next focus will be on the Smoky Challenge Adventure Run just to see if I can do it in less than 24 hours. At my age I’ll be quite happy with that.

        You did so AWESOME! I’m not sure I would have handled the stomach issues as well as you did.

        JB

  2. ooartist1234 Post author

    GREAT finish time. It was nice to train on the actual course; I agree. SCAR is it a race? I read about it. 72 miles? Wow. How long will you train for it? When are you going to run it?

    My stomach, def was a downer. I an ecstatic about my finish time, but it would be interesting to know how I would do without a sour stomach. I was pretty dehydrated too.

    Liz

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Pacing the Burn | Run With Me

Leave a Reply

