Lookout 50: reflections

“You are WAY stronger than you realize. You are FAR MORE loved than you know. It is gonna hurt MORE than you expect. But, the outcome is SO satisfying.”
-Me

Still sitting in disbelief. 10:43. (sigh) Really? 12:50 pace. This is the stuff MY dreams are made of. The day really just was optimal for good, even great, running. I just decided to take it. I decided I was going to run with a smile on my face and have fun. You can run with all you have and do it with a smile on your face, encouraging people a long the way.

Do not be afraid to train hard, pushing yourself to the verge of. . . . What do I mean by this? I think it means different things to different people. To me, it means taking my base workout and doing just a bit more than required. That could mean running faster than prescribed,  adding a few hills after. Running my daily miles first, then, hiking on the treadmill for 30 minutes. Running in the early morning, then, running in the later morning. I try to think of the race. The challenges that I will have in my way. How I can train to tackle such challenges?

You have got to dream, sometimes BIG. As a coach, I feel like I need to ask my track group, my training partners and my clients to write on the chalkboard of their mind 100 times, “I am way stronger than I realize. . . I am far more loved than I know.  . . It is going to hurt more than I expect. . . but, the outcome will be so satisfying.” You just are stronger than you know. If you never challenge that thought, you will never truly savor or be mystified by the outcome.

Final reflection targeted at those who have a hard time loving their bodies, loving themselves. The body that ran Lookout 50 in 10:43, is the same body that woke up a week earlier unhappy because “something” did not fit right. The body that ran Lookout 50 in 10:43, is the same body that I told looked “fat” a month earlier. The body that ran Lookout 50 in 10:43, is the same body that I thought needed to “lose a couple pounds”. . . AND the body that ran Lookout 50 in 10:43 IS AMAZING, IS STRONG, IS BEAUTIFUL, IS TOUGH, LOOKS GREAT IN JEANS, HAS A BEAUTIFUL SMILE, WEIGHS 150 POUNDS, IS 5’10”, IS 44 YEARS OLD!!!!!! I want to challenge your perception of yourself! When you start to doubt your weight, your appearance, your worth, your beauty, then, email me. I will walk with you down the road of your DREAMS! Do NOT sell yourself short. do NOT limit your mind with FALSE perception. I want you to SOAR. . .

I’m gonna run and not grow weary
I’m gonna walk and not grow faint
Rise up on wings like eagles
To soar

I know with everything you’re with me
I know you’re working as I wait
Lift me up on wings like eagles
To soar

This desert holds a song I will sing, on and on
You’re a river when the ground I walk is dry

You will set the crooked straight
Clear my path, make a way
You will lead me from the valley to the heights

-SOAR, by Meredith Andrews

 

Leave a Reply

