Learn To Value Your True Essence

Learning to value your true essence–your core self, rather than defining yourself through your looks or performance.

Giving yourself the approval that you might be seeking from others, rather than judging yourself. Valuing your effort way more than outcomes, and separating your worth from outcomes.

-Margaret Paul, Ph. D.

 

I ran 8 miles the other morning, early, half of it with my sister. Toward the end, on my own, I was praying for some friends. Then, my mind rested on this thought, very clearly, very specifically.

Challenge your thoughts today. You are more beautiful than you know. Your body looks completely different and better than you realize. Your friendship matters. Without you in this world. . . right now. . . there would be less salt and less light!

That was me, speaking to my running female friends, over 40 female friends, non-running female friends, under 40 female friends! But, more than those words to you female readers, it was Jesus’ words to me!

I began to think about where my thoughts rest and stay about myself? Where’s the truth about who I am? Where can I always go to be loved, affirmed, cared for? For me it has to come from and rest with Jesus.

Where did this line of thinking take me next? Hold on. May seem like a jump. . .

If you’re just running to eat, your missing out on running.

Here, I am challenging myself. . . my past. . . my now. . . my tomorrow. Part of my story is that I would exercise to maintain my weight. OVEREXERCISE. Not ever give myself a day off EXERCISE. Not stop when I was hurt, EXERCISE. Help me find my worth, EXERCISE. Help me find my happiness, EXERCISE.

THAT is a miserable way to go. I did not maintain my weight. I was tired. I did not find my worth. I did not find my happiness. I was hurt, maybe, not physically, but my emotional self was hurt.

Now, when I find myself looking at exercise, like drudgery, I have to evaluate what I am doing and why. I am happy to say that I am not running to eat. I am running. I am happy.

More on my story later. . . for now. . .

Learning to value your true essence–your core self, rather than defining yourself through your looks or performance.

Leave a Reply

