Stress Fracture? Part II

This place. . . this is where it gets spiritual for me. If I was faced with the possibility of a stress fracture a year ago, I am not so sure that I would have handled it the same way. I have grown as a runner but I have also grown as a person. It is a fine line for me. . . this place. . . this passion. If it was a stress fracture, I would have to stop running for a while. No running. None.

Hmmm. . .

The week of Easter is considered the passion week. I think that I finally get it, in my finite mind. Christ was passionate. . . unto death. . . in his love for me. Christ is passionate about ME. . . me. As I prepare to run in Zion, I am passionate. In my narrow understanding, I get His passion, His intensity, His joy. Our God is an adventurous God. He is not a safe or boring God. Trail running has become a place of adventure and passion. (I smile as I type.) It is not safe or boring. AND, He is right there with me.

Passion does something to you. Passion is defined as a strong and barely controllable emotion. It is dedication, devotion, excitement, fury, intensity, joy. God gave me this body. He gave me the ability to run for long distances.  It is His gift to me. It goes deeper than the run. He has always been there and He always will be.

Pencil marks on a wall
I wasn’t always this tall,
You scattered some monsters from beneath my bed,
You watched my team win,
You watched my team lose,
You watched when my bicycle went down again,

And When I was weak unable to speak,
still I could call You by name,
and I said “Elbow healer, Superhero,
come if You can,” and You said “I am”

The winds of change,
And circumstance blow in and all around
us so we find a foothold that’s familiar,
And bless the moments that we feel You nearer
Life had begun, I was woven and spun,
You let the angels dance around the throne, who can say when,
But they’ll dance again, when I am free and finally headed home

I will be weak, unable to speak,
still I will call You by name
“Creator, Maker, Life-sustainer,
Comforter, Healer, My Redeemer,
Lord and King, Beginning and
the End, I am, yes, I am.”

-I AM by Nichole Nordeman

Leave a Reply

