Just keep swimming. Just keep swimming. Just keep swimming. . .

“Just keep swimming. Just keep swimming. Just keep swimming.” -Dory from Finding Nemo

What a whirlwind of two weeks!! Let’s see? Chairing a fundraiser for my daughter’s intermediate school, attending a two day session of RRCA (Road Runners Club of America), completing my CPR/FA training, these were the ins and outs of my life for the past 14 days. In the midst of the daily ‘throws’ of being a mom to three and a wife to one. LOVE this life, but it can become tricky!

Have you ever wished for a thirty-hour day? Surely this extra time would relieve the tremendous pressure under which we live. Our lives leave a trail of unfinished tasks. Unanswered letters, unvisited friends, unwritten articles, and unread books haunt quiet moments when we stop to evaluate. We desperately need relief. . . We live in constant tension between the urgent and the important.  -Charles E. Hummel, “Tyranny of the Urgent”

In the midst of that pandemonium, I had some beautiful running moments. I was able to maintain 40+ miles of running each week, and that, my friends, was not easy. It was necessary! You see, when my life becomes that committed, I must go to necessary places. One of which is running.

I am still an ultra running, trail chick by heart, but I have had the fortune of joining some ladies, whom I love, in their marathon training. For the past 4 weekends, we have run 12, 15, 14 and 9 miles. There are times that I miss the road. 🙂 I have also had the privilege of joining a friend or two who need to run some long distances as part of their training. It is a good feeling to know I can do it and to know that it is not about my race or mileage but about someone else’s.

I have noticed a couple things about my body, the past couple weeks. I have not been able to nap/rest. I have not been drinking/eating anything for recovery. (My ‘go-to’ recovery drink is chocolate milk. It is easy. It is convenient. It is good.) I have also not been eating my daily 1/2 avocado or my daily almonds. Have these things impacted my running for the past two weeks? YES. My legs have felt heavy and my running, with a few exceptions, has been basic. The couple times that I pushed hard without recovery or without rest or without good nutrition has taken more of a toll than I realized. In order for me to run the miles that I want to run and race the distance that I want to race, I have got to take the time and use resting, recovery and nutrition to my advantage.

I am finished with my daughter’s fundraiser. I passed my RRCA test. I am CPR/FA certified. The house is clean. Dinner continues to be made and eaten. I LOVE this life. I do live in the constant tension between he urgent and the important. Not trading in my “hats” anytime soon.

I finally chose a race!! The Fiery Gizzard. It is a trail marathon in November.  Details to follow. . . training plan, goals, etc.

 

Leave a Reply

