Goodbye

Cause if you never leave home, never let go
You’ll never make it to the great unknown till you
Keep your eyes open, my friend
So tell me you’re strong, tell me you see
I need to hear it, can you promise me to
Keep your eyes open, my friend

-“Keep your Eyes Open”, NEEDTOBREATHE

At the age of 42, I have said a lot of goodbyes. I’ve said goodbye to people and things. I’ve said goodbye to free time. I’ve said goodbye to my sanity. I’m getting ready to say goodbye to a friend, a friend that I have only known for a little over two years. Over the course of that time, we have run three 50K’s and one 50 mile race, not to mention countless hours a week training for these races. I mean HOURS. All the time would add up to DAYS. I’ll miss her. I will see her again.

Here is how we kept it together on the trail!!

1. We texted if we were running late. It was usually me, because one of her pet peeves is being late. OOPS!

2. We did not wear headphones.

3. We kept a pace that we were both comfortable with, with the occasional “pick up”. 🙂 She has a very consistent, even pace.

4. I TRIED not to be a conversation hog. This was tough for me. I always have something to say.

5. We took turns choosing the route. I will admit that I was kind of a ‘route hog’. I seemed to have very specific things in my head, which usually meant the hilliest routes we could do in the time allotted.

6. We did not invite someone else along, unless we asked each other first. The only exception to this rule was if we invited Stacie or Teresa. They were always welcome.

7. We suggested new running routes to each other.

8. I did not call her to suggest something “better”, like sleeping in. We motivated one another.

9. We signed up for races together. For me, these were LIFE CHANGING, LIFE CHALLENGING races. My heart was constantly on my sleeve. She had a ‘poker face’.

10. We allowed one another to make our own fashion statements. There must have been times when she laughed inside at all the Lululemon clothing I owned. She was more of a traditional trail running gal. 🙂

11. Hugs were necessary, especially after emotional races and hard times in life.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

