Going back to Cali. . . got my sights on a PR

So, I am tapering next week for another race. My husband and I are going to San Diego for the Rock n Roll Marathon and 1/2 Marathon.  Until yesterday,  I could not decide between a marathon or a 1/2 marathon.  My comfort zone right now is the marathon. I am an average marathon runner, but I have no doubt in my mind I can run and finish strong.

The challenge is to me is the half.   My best half time is 2:02. I want to beat 2:02. This is the first year, since I have been running that I spend several months averaging 40+ mile weeks, mostly on the trail. 40 miles on the trail at an average pace of 13.00 min/mi takes me approximately 9 hours. 40 miles on the road at an average pace of 9:30 min/mi take me approximately 6 hours. Running 40 miles on the trail gives me 3 more hours on my feet each week versus running on the road. The trail also includes at least 950′ feet of ascent and descent, along with roots, rocks, water and mud.

This time spent on the trail was more than enough for a PR in my 50K in February, and it completely prepared me for my first 50 mile in March. The rest that I allowed my body, following my 50 mile race, plus the time I spent preparing for that race gave me all I needed for the trail marathon in April. This training has also given me some good training times on the track and the road. Definitely, improvements from last year. So? Why not shoot for a PR in SD?

I practiced my visualization on the trail this week. I replayed the finish line with a time of 1:55, over and over. It is funny how the more details I added to my visualization that day, the faster I was able to run on the trail, even in the heat and humidity. It made me smile.

I am not going to be afraid to say, I am going to go for it! I will sign up for the race with the 1:55 pace group. The forecasted temps are low of 58 and a high of 69. The weather could not be better, NO humidity!! I have put the mileage in for the past 3 weeks, two at 40 mile weeks, this week at 35. Looking forward to my taper week.

Plugging these thoughts in. . . from Bobby McGee’s book, Magical Running.

When you’re fresh, be subjective: I’m strong. I’m relaxed. I’m prepared. I love racing.

When you’re fatigued, be objective: arms in, shoulders down, relax.

Trying is often a way of not being responsible. (p.164)

Once I know I have the choice of either exhaustion or challenge, the answer becomes clear, meet the challenge. (p. 186)

I can commit to an excellent level of running, no matter how I feel.

In running, it is required that you deeply know and believe that you have the ability.

Race recap in a few weeks.

 

2 thoughts on “Going back to Cali. . . got my sights on a PR

Leave a Reply

