Lake Martin 100 Race Recap, Part I: Food and Facts

Here are the food and the facts. I will talk more about race itself in Part 2.

Hardest stretch: miles 34-42

Changed from AK Ultimate Direction pack to my fuel belt for the last 7 miles. I should have done that A LOT sooner.

Changed shoes and socks at mile 32, felt nice.

During the race I ate:

  • two large tortillas with nutella
  • 4-5 gels (this is a lot less than usual)
  • 4 (18 oz.) servings of Hammer Perpetuem (at approximately 300 calories per 18 oz.)
  • 2 (20 oz.) bottles of Hammer Heed
  • 6 (20 oz.) containers of water (you are supposed to drink the same amount of water and perpetuem, when you drink the perpetuem.)
  • 1 whole peanut butter and jelly
  • 1/2 cup of dark chocolate m & m’s
  • 1 kind bar
  • 4 ibuprofen
  • 8 Hammer endurolyte capsules

After the race I ate:

  • 2 quesadilla triangles
  • 1 cup of salty potato chips
  • 3 chocolate chip cookies
  • 1/2 can of diet coke
  • 3 pieces of pizza
  • 2 bread sticks
  • ice cream
  • 2 ibuprofen

I was not anymore sore than running a 50K

I was sore in different places, top of feet, shoulders, arms and chest

My favorite fact? My SUUNTO AMBIT 2 went the entire time without running out of battery power, AND it had 48% power left, when I was finished. If you are an avid trail racer or want to continue running trails, for the most part, the watch is worth EVERY penny. I love, love, love it. You will not be disappointed.

I wore my Oiselle duds! I had on a Oiselle sport’s bra, Oiselle shorts and a Oiselle tank.

I had on my Swiftwick socks the entire time.

I wore my Montrail Bajadas for miles 0-32. I changed to my Hoka Kailua‘s for miles 32-50.

 

Leave a Reply

