Sold Out!

Have you ever been ‘sold out’ to something? I’m sold out to running! More than just my “take aways”, which are constant and many. It is the high I get from checking in with other runners, i.e. understanding the numbers, understanding the distance, abbreviations, terms, slang, clothing, nutrition!! THAT kind of sold out! I’m there.

I’m looking forward to this weekend. I will be racing the Lake Martin 50 mile run. The race starts at 6:30 am. Current forecast is a high of 76 degrees, a starting temp. of around 58 degrees. I say, perfect to a bit warm. SO, I will be wearing a tank and shorts! I am excited.

What I plan to wear: I am ditching the Lululemon this weekend for a Oiselle tank and shorts. I am anxious to give these a long distance run! I will wear my Swiftwick socks, a hat or visor, MY NEW SUUNTO AMBIT 2 WATCH and both my Hokas and my Montrails. I’ll start in my Montrail Bajadas. I will have Hokas and compression socks in my drop bag, if I need to “freshen up” after 30 miles. I will also have on my AK Ultimate Direction pack, that holds my food and drink. I will also bring my fuel belt, just in case I would like a break from the pack?

What I plan to eat: I will have gels and Hammer Perpetuem for most of the course. My plan is to eat at least every 45 minutes to an hour. I will switch between water, Perpetuem and sport’s drink. I will also consume 1-2 Hammer electrolyte capsules per hour. The aid stations (8 of them) will serve pb & j, m & m’s, gels, cookies, pretzels, coke products, chips, gummy bears, etc. I like the sandwiches. 🙂

How I plan to do this thing: I plan to break this race into 3 parts: 16 miles/16 miles/18 miles. I will give myself a range of times, calculating from 13 minute miles to 16 minute miles, which translates to between 10 hours and 50 minutes of running total or 13 hours and 20 minutes running total. I will run by feel and check my watch at these marks. I am really the most excited to reach the 31 mile mark, because anything after that is the farthest I have ever gone. I will use my drop bags in this race. I will put extra food, ibuprofen, benadryl, shoes, socks, clothes, headlamp and flash light in these bags.

How I have prepared: Running, running and more running. I’ve run 967 miles, since October 14. That is approximately 41 miles a week. I’m not going to lie. It has been tough at times, too much at times.  In addition to running, I have been working hard at the gym, twice a week. I have a simple workout that I do during my race training. My eating really has not changed. I also take a nap, every chance I get.

Thanks for going on this journey with me! I love to share these things, with you. Stay tuned for my race recap.

3 thoughts on “Sold Out!

      1. Keith

        I loved it!!! It was a great experience. Not too hilly, some creek crossings and muddy in spots and it got into the 70’s with 70% humidity by noon. I’m thinking I’ll go back next year to do my first 50 miler there. I thought about going to Lake Martin to do the 27 mile run, but since I’m working on a road marathon in early April, I decided to pass.
        Now I’m shopping for my next 50k in the fall. I’m thinking the Tortoise and the Hare on 11/15 in Georgia. Just depends what the wife will let me do..lol. Again Good Luck this weekend!!!

Leave a Reply

