Disquisition on Discovery

Lately, this is me, “lull in running, lull in joy/passion, lull in pursuit [of Jesus].

When I am feeling the farthest away from God, He draws me closer. . .when I start to question why I don’t have joy, why I am bored, why I am unmotivated, I can almost always see where I have gotten “lost on the trail”, “not noticed the flag hanging on the tree” and where I have “questioned the signs along the way”. Sometimes,  you have to follow the signs into the river, knowing that you are going to get more wet then you planned.

He does not stop pursuing. He does not stop showing me the best ways. I stop looking. I stop seeing. I stop listening. He’s made me for relationship and bringing glory to him. In order for me to thrive as a runner and reciprocate the relationships I am in, I have to know Jesus.

We all reflect Jesus, whether we believe what He teaches or are at a place where we are questioning what He teaches. I believe we will find joy in this life because He has created beauty all around us. I have some very precious friends who have abilities that might seem intrinsic to them but are extraordinary to me. It is the little things that they do every day that reflect the beauty and detail of God.

Some will tell you that there is a formula to get closer to Jesus. I say that there are times when all you have is a quiet moment. There are times when all you want is to be around a certain friend. There are times when all you can do is lace up your running shoes and move. He is in all these things. He speaks into the quiet, just like He did when He made the world. He shines in the smile, talent, comfort and beauty of a friend, because He created her/him. He shouts aloud with color and wind and movement as we run. Don’t follow a formula. Follow Him! I love how “The Message” bible translates Acts 17:26-28.

He made the entire human race with plenty of time and space for living, so that we could seek after God, and not just grope around in the dark but actually find Him. He doesn’t play hide-and-seek with us. He’s not remote; He’s near. We live and move in Him. . . can’t get away from Him.

When I remember that being His daughter and His beloved is my first calling, I will find joy in all that I do. I can live and move to the fullest and not be afraid of ‘not finishing’ or getting hurt. There is also something so safe and comfortable (purging sigh) about His pursuit of me.

Leave a Reply

