Be Brave

I spent my entire one hour run on the trails this week listening to this song over and over and over again. I’m dedicating this post to my friend Kay who is running a marathon in a couple weeks. I’m dedicating this post to Kristin, Heather, Kay and Alicia for incredible finishing times at Oak Barrel a few weeks ago. ALL of them finished this super hilly half in less than 2 hours and 1 minute. I’m dedicating this post to the guy I watched on tv who crossed the finish line with vigor in Boston and then, with the same vigor turned around and ran toward the chaos and destruction, tore off his shirt and went into action.

Read this song through a couple of times, slowly. Click on the link provided,  (Nichole Nordeman’s name) and listen to this song. Then, close your eyes and imagine yourself tying your bag of ‘status quo’, ‘middle of the road’, ‘moderation’ and ‘the way it always was’ tightly to an anvil and dropping it in the ocean. BE BRAVE!!!

The gate is wide
The road is paved in moderation
The crowd is kind and quick to pull you in
Welcome to the middle ground
You’re safe and sound and
Until now it’s where I’ve been

‘Cause it’s been fear that ties me down to everything
But it’s been love, Your love, that cuts the strings

chorus:

So long status quo
I think I just let go
You make me want to be brave
The way it always was
Is no longer good enough
You make me want to be brave
Brave, brave

I am small
And I speak when I’m spoken to
But I am willing to risk it all
I say Your name
Just Your name and I’m ready to jump
Even ready to fall…

Why did I take this vow of compromise?
Why did I try to keep it all inside?

(chorus)

I’ve never known a fire that didn’t begin with a flame
Every storm will start with just a drop of rain
But if you believe in me
That changes everything
So long, I’m gone

(chorus)

-Nichole Nordeman

2 thoughts on “Be Brave

  1. Alicia Barker

    If only we can inspire each other to be brave! “For God did not give us a spirit of fear”- if only we can embrace truth instead of the little voice inside our heads speaking “that is too much,” “there is no way you can or should be expected to trust that much,” “you can’t handle this” (in life and running). Here is to a day when we embrace God’s truth instead of what the world imprints on our minds. May we continually see potential in each other beyond ordinary! I love this song, thanks for sharing. I really needed to hear those words today!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

